How to Compromise?

I’m at a point where it’s hard to take care of 80% of the relationship and be willing to compromise 50% of the time.

I know a good relationship will not require fairness.  Life is not fair, and relationships cannot be equal.  How do we get what we require with so much compromise?  I guess I just chose the wrong person?  Did I falsely see what I wanted to see, or was he accidentally misleading?  He’s a good person, and needs this relationship.  How to make the right decision now?

I try to do the right thing for him, but it kills me and I end up angry.  He wants concrete things he can do that make it fair for me, but it takes a year to work on one thing at a time, and getting that one thing does not fix the relationship.  I wish I knew the secret for success and fulfillment in relationships.  I guess that is really what I’m missing.  Some sort of fulfillment and value for this compromise.

Is there one thing that I can hang onto to make it worthwhile?  I don’t want kids, so family is not it.  So many of my friends feel like they are not getting enough, but they have the one thing that is good in their relationship that makes it worthwhile.

We both want it to work.

This entry was posted in Romantic Love and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

