Comfort or Romance

This may not be true for everyone, but it’s been true for me so far. The more comfortable I get with a partner, the less attracted I am to that person. Yes there is a chance I could find a guy who is extremely romantic even after getting comfortable, but I’m not going to except that characteristic given the rarity. This happens a lot for people. Ester Pearl wrote a helpful book called Mating In Captivity, documenting the various couples with these types of issues, and the individual recommendations she provided to help them spice up their romantic life. Check out the condensed version in her TED Talk online. I haven’t determined if I’m okay with a long term relationship lacking romantic passion. If I ever start a new relationship, I will probably avoid living together (against my frugal nature). Long distance would be nice, and maybe I could consider being polyamorous. For now, I’ll appreciate the other benefits of this relationship and see if we can make it work.

This entry was posted in Romantic Love and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

